Indiana Signs Twenty-Three During Early Signing Period

Indiana head football coach Tom Allen announced today the signing of 23 student-athletes to National Letters of Intent to play for the Hoosiers in 2018. Today opened college football’s early signing period, which will run through Friday, Dec. 22.

IU signed 12 defensive players, eight offensive players, two athletes and one kicker. Indiana added five defensive backs, four defensive linemen and three linebackers on defense, and two offensive linemen, two tight ends, two wide receivers, one quarterback and one running back on offense.

Players signed from 10 different states, including six from Florida, four from Illinois, four from Tennessee, three from Indiana, two from Georgia, and one each from Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Virginia.

Defensive lineman James Head Jr. (Miami, Fla./Southridge H.S.), wide receiver Jacolby Hewitt (Cordova, Tenn./Cordova H.S.), quarterback Michael Penix Jr. (Tampa, Fla./Tampa Bay Tech H.S.) and running back Ronnie Walker Jr. (Hopewell, Va./Hopewell H.S.) will enroll in spring semester classes and participate in practice.

The Hoosiers signing class currently ranks 33rd nationally in Rivals team rankings. IU will close out its class during National Signing Day on Wednesday, Feb. 7.

2018 Indiana Football Signees (December 20, 2017)
Signee Watch Pos Ht Wt Hometown (High School)                            
Matt Bjorson Watch TE 6-3 225 Hinsdale, Ill. (Hinsdale Central H.S.)
Charles Campbell Watch K 5-9 180 Jackson, Tenn. (Univ. School of Jackson)
Aaron Casey Watch LB 6-2 215 Douglasville, Ga. (Alexander H.S.)
James Head Jr. Watch DL 6-5 232 Miami, Fla. (Southridge H.S.)
Jacolby Hewitt Watch WR 6-1 210 Cordova, Tenn. (Cordova H.S.)
TJ Ivy Watch TE 6-5 227 Chicago, Ill. (Marist H.S.)
Cam Jones Watch LB 6-3 215 Memphis, Tenn. (St. Benedict at Auburndale)
Shamar Jones Watch DL 6-1 271 Johnstown, Pa. (Greater Johnstown H.S.)
Jordan Jusevitch Watch DB 6-1 190 Lowell, Ind. (Lowell H.S.)
Nick Marozas Watch OL 6-5 271 Chicago, Ill. (Brother Rice H.S.)
Miles Marshall Watch WR 6-4 210 Lilburn, Ga. (Parkview H.S.)
Devon Matthews Watch DB 6-2 203 Jacksonville, Fla. (Ribault)
Gavin McCabe Watch DL 6-4 255 Oak Lawn, Ill. (Marist H.S.)
Micah McFadden Watch LB 6-2 225 Tampa, Fla. (Plant H.S.)
Madison Norris Watch DL 6-5 200 Indianapolis, Ind. (Hamilton Southeastern)
Michael Penix Jr. Watch QB 6-3 205 Tampa, Fla. (Tampa Bay Tech H.S.)
Noah Pierre Watch DB   5-11 185 Hialeah, Fla. (Champagnat Catholic School)
Aidan Rafferty Watch OL 6-6 271 Kensington, Md. (Gonzaga H.S.)
Elijah Rodgers Watch DB 6-1 175 Blacksburg, S.C. (Blacksburg H.S.)
Stevie Scott Watch ATH 6-2 235 Syracuse, N.Y. (Christian Brothers Academy)
Reese Taylor Watch ATH 5-11 175 Indianapolis, Ind. (Ben Davis H.S.)
Ronnie Walker Jr. Watch RB 5-11 198 Hopewell, Va. (Hopewell H.S.)
Jaylin Williams Watch CB 6-0 180 Memphis, Tenn. (Germantown H.S.)

Press Release from the Indiana Athletics Department

Related Articles