Wildcats Announce 2017 Football Team Captains

NEWS RELEASE| www.NUSports.com

EVANSTON, Ill. —  Godwin Igwebuike, Justin Jackson, Tyler Lancaster and Clayton Thorson have been named 2017 captains by their teammates, Dan and Susan Jones Family Head Football Coach Pat Fitzgerald announced Friday night.

Igwebuike was voted Second-Team All-Big Ten by the Conference’s coaches last season. He led the Wildcats in 2016 with 108 tackles and 78 solo stops and ranked ninth in the country with 6.0 solo tackles per game.

Jackson was named First-Team All-Big Ten as voted by the conference media last season. He finished the 2016 campaign ranked second in program history with 4,129 career rushing yards. Jackson led the Big Ten with a career-high 1,524 rushing yards, becoming the first player in Northwestern history to rush for 1,000-plus yards in three seasons.

Lancaster started all 13 games for the Wildcats at defensive tackle in 2016, finishing with 28 tackles, including 3.5 for loss. He was named Defensive Player of the Week at Northwestern three times last season and was chosen by his teammates to wear the No. 1 jersey in 2017.

Thorson set a new NU single-season record with 22 touchdown passes in 2016. His 3,182 passing yards last season were the most ever by a quarterback in their sophomore season and the fourth most in NU single-season history.

Northwestern’s 2017 campaign begins on Saturday, September 2, when the Wildcats welcome Nevada to Ryan Field at 2:30 p.m. Chicago’s Big Ten Team will then travel to Durham N.C., to face ACC foe Duke before returning home to take on Bowling Green (September 16, 6:30 p.m.). The ‘Cats will also welcome Big Ten Conference opponents Penn State, Iowa, Michigan State, Purdue and Minnesota to Evanston this fall.

NEWS RELEASE from NUSports.com


Lucas Babcock

Lucas Babcock is the Editor in Chief and Founder of SportZreport.com. Babcock has been with the SportZreport.com Editorial Team since April 2015.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *